Available playersTop players Chat Forum External sites: Wiki

«

Desent

Raider

Now, I'm not an expert coder myself, and I don't really understand the intricacies of communication with the server, but wouldn't it be very easy to create a very strong bot by making it check every single possible move internally, using something like bmaker's battlelib in order to find the set of moves which most reliably creates the best possible outcome which the other player can take advantage of the least (done so by checking the opponent's possible turns after any given turn). I know this bot would take forever to take it's turn (although since it's all done internally, it shouldn't really stress the server), but I pretty sure this WOULD work, with out any complicated coding.

spadequack

Heavy Tank

It is possible... and yes it would take forever. The main obstacles are coding it and memory limitations. It would only be able to look ahead maybe one or two turns before the computer runs out of memory. Chess has many many many fewer move options yet a brute force search over all possible moves to find the "best" move usually cannot look more than maybe seven or so (rough estimate) turns ahead. I could be wrong though...

This message was edited 3 times. Last update was at 06/09/2008 22:00:19

Mattie

Raider

It does sound that easy. That's the hard part about AI. What seems easy at first glance to humans is really a lot harder to put into an algorithm that works.

Commonly, turn-based AI uses a board evaluation function that helps it score whether or not a given board configuration is better than a previous one. So you typically exhaust all possibilities (trimming branches intelligently if one is obviously bad), and evaluate each position. The problem is that there are so many, many moves that the solution takes so long to calculate that you can never play your turns. When you say "it will take forever", you're right. And that's the issue at hand.