Available playersTop players Chat Forum External sites: Wiki

Poll results: Shoud/can the wee-community buy and develop Weewar?

Yes, and I'll pay to play 34% [ 41 ]
Yes, and I'll help 21% [ 26 ]
Yes, but it sounds impossible 14% [ 17 ]
Maybe - depends on the price and the skills required/on hand 21% [ 25 ]
No, bad idea - we'd just make a mess of it 5% [ 6 ]
No, let it die 5% [ 6 ]
Total Votes : 121

«

previous 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 next

McMonster

Tank

RockyDog wrote:
When you buy a house you have to look past the paint, wallpaper and fixtures to what it could become. Warnet and elitecommand have 90% of the structure you want and need. They also have the flexibility for some of hte additions you want to add. Changing the graphics would be trivial...

The only thing WW has that you cant replicate is the domain name.

I am no expert in these matters. If what RD says is true then I for one am open to this possibility.

I agree with Spade below that Weewar has a superior coherence and simplicity that is a huge part of its appeal - Warnet and Elite Command just don't have it.

I guess the problem is that we can't in fact replicate Weewar's graphics and interface too closely without infringing on copyright? Could we just buy the name and right to replicate the interface but not actually buy any of the code or graphics from EA?

I think you should speak your mind RD - you are a wee-vet who has shown dedication to the community and you're offering constructive comments here.

Dear Weewarriors,

Please read the first post in the thread for background info and the rest to get caught up on discussion to date.

PLEASE KEEP YOUR COMMENTS AS BRIEF AND SUCCINCT AS POSSIBLE SO THAT OTHERS WILL NOT BE INSPIRED TO BREAK YOUR FINGERS. And try to avoid poo pooy naysaying in this thread - thoughtful critiques welcome however!

Please VOTE in the poll at the top of the thread.

This message was edited 3 times. Last update was at 20/08/2011 18:29:11

spadequack

Heavy Tank