Available playersTop players Chat Forum External sites: Wiki

«

Bloodaxe_999

Heavy Trooper

Just thought It would make sense to put down some of the mistakes that new players make. Oh and I'm a beginner

1] Thinking Airfields and Ports give income. (I was pretty sure they didn't but asked)

2] Thinking tanks can capture Bases, Ports, Airfields. (common of jump right inners)

What are the others?

Casaubon

Tank

3) when I started (long time ago) I thought subs would be kind of invisible to the enemy like in every other game

Shulgin

Tank

hmm, i didn't have a problem with 2) and 3)...

4) when i started i thought symmetric two player maps are fair for both sides and therefore
accepted invites on those maps and invited others on them. took me a couple of weeks
(maybe even months) to understand what first turn advantage is

ShindarKing

Trooper

5) building hovers in bases that are surrounded by mountains/forests. seen this one too many times.

General_Death

Tank

I've seen these a lot from rookies that I played unrated games for kicks:

6. Attacking in a stream.. some people don't even wait to build an army, they just send one unit at a time to its death.

7. Attacking without artillery

8. Weak defense lines, you need at least 1 straight line of full strength units at the front.

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 19/12/2010 22:50:20

beetstreet

Heavy Trooper

9. i kept thinking that a trooper/hover would stick around after it captured a base (like in advance wars). it doesn't and i lost too many bases from a counter-capture because i didn't have any back-up.

10. not understanding zone of control movement; especially thinking a jet couldn't hit a unit behind a few other units only to see it fly into the zoc and then use it's second move to slip through and attack.

11. taking for granted the gang-up bonuses.